Gelatine

Category: 

Consumption of Food

According to Madhhab: 

Hanafi

Reference: 

1440-109

Question: 

Can you please advise
which gelatine is halaal and can be consumed 


Answer: 

Gelatine is a protein, which is obtained from collagen derived from animal skin or bones. Gelatine can be derived from either beef (bovine), pork (porcine), chicken (poultry) or fish (marine) sources. A form of gelatin is also found in vegetables. However, if it is used then the terms PECTIN, CORNSTARCH, MODIFIED STARCH etc. are employed. Hence, it is not termed as “Gelatine”. Fish Gelatine is scarcely available and at a phenomenal cost. Thus, it is not commonly used. Most Gelatine is derived from pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides.
The ruling regarding Gelatine is as follows:
• If it is derived from pork (porcine) it will always be deemed Haraam.
• If it is derived from fish (marine) it will always be deemed Halaal.
• When derived from beef (bovine) or chicken (poultry), we need to determine whether it was derived from a Halaal slaughtered source or not. If it is from a Halaal slaughtered source, it will be accepted as Halaal. On the other hand, if it is from a non-Halaal slaughtered source, then it will be deemed Haraam. Sweets that contain fish Gelatine (which is very rare) or Gelatine derived from Halaal Slaughtered Animals (Bovine) will be Halaal for consumption provided no other Haraam ingredients are utilized in the manufacturing process. If you require help in ascertaining the Halaal status of any specific product you can contact the S.A.N.H.A helpline at 0861 786 111

AND ALLAH TA'AALA ALONE IN HIS INFINITE KNOWLEDGE KNOWS BEST
ANSWERED BY: Ebrahim Patel


CHECKED AND APPROVED BY:  Mufti Muhammed Saeed Motara Saheb D.B. 
Islamic Date:1 Muharram 1440 English Date: 12 September 2018

Tags: